Skip to main content
Carolina Story: Virtual Museum of University History

Joseph Curtis Sloane (1909-1998)

Chair of the art department and director of the university art museum, Joseph C. Sloane won the Thomas Jefferson Award in 1976. Born in Pennsylvania, he was chair of the art departments at Rutgers University and Bryn Mawr College before coming to UNC in 1950. He served as department chair from 1950 to1974 as well as head of the Ackland Art Museum from 1958 to 1978. He is remembered for his leading role in promoting the arts in North Carolina and for his work in developing the collection of the university’s Ackland Art Museum. He also served on the National Council of Arts in Education and the N.C. Arts Commission. His academic specialties were nineteenth-century French art and twentieth-century art. The university’s art library is named for him.